Shame on you Target!

I love Target just as much as the next person. In fact, I was devastated to have found out that there was no Target in the small town I moved to (the closest one being two hours away). Thank goodness for Target.com right??

WRONG! While browsing their swimsuit collection yesterday, I came across the worst photo shop job of one of their models. Their graphic designer did quite the hack job on this model.

Screen-Shot-2014-03-10-at-10.12.05-PM

 I mean her poor vagina has a huge rectangle cut out of it! I’m not even exactly sure what’s going on by the right side of her body, I mean a bit of her breast has been removed, her hip has a nice little sliver taken out of it, and he arm has been thinned out so much that her hand looks like a big, floppy appendage just hanging out. Her left fingers are even missing knuckles in an attempt to thin out her thigh. Can’t tell from this picture? How about now…

Screen-Shot-2014-03-10-at-10.10.57-PM Screen-Shot-2014-03-10-at-9.27.15-PM

This was my exact reaction….

lZOHCvW

I know that retailers think its important for their models to have a thigh gap but this is extreme. Whatever idiot you hired to alter the shape of this beautiful model  and the person who actually approved this image to be uploaded to the site should be ashamed of themselves. In a way its a blessing in disguise that someone disfigured this poor model. We have more proof to show ourselves and young females that these images are not REAL and neither is this supposed standard of beauty in fashion and media.

It is sad to me to see one of my favorite companies that has so much influence on young people everywhere FAIL so miserably. I can only hope that Target learned their lesson. Who knows? Maybe they will get smart like Dove and Aerie and embrace women for their true beauty without retouching or using supermodels.

P.S. I went back to their site today to get another screen grab and noticed that the page had been taken down. Hmmm…I guess a few (by the I mean a lot) of other people noticed. “Sorry, something went wrong” Yeah, your Photoshopper disfigured one of your models.

target oops

Leave a Reply

