Happy New Year!!

Happy New Year friends!!! I hope that everyone enjoyed their New Years Eve celebration last night. Is everyone enjoying their first day of 2014??? 20140101-171207.jpgMike and I had a very mellow New Year’s Eve filled with scrabble, rummy, ending with watching the ball drop in Times Square, and falling asleep shorty thereafter. It was perfect and an absolute blast. Both Mike and I are pretty competitive so it always gets interesting when we play games against each other.

20140101-171218.jpg

So now that it is 2014, it’s time to make some resolutions and (I know everyone says this) but…stick to them. We are all capable of setting goals and reaching them. The key to being successful with New Year’s resolutions is to 1) set realistic expectations and 2) create smaller milestones throughout the year to keep yourself on track. Those seem like really simple rules to follow when setting your resolutions but many of us tend to have high expectations of what we want to accomplish for the year and if we don’t see results within a few months, we give up entirely. Instead, we need to set ourselves up for success.

My resolutions for 2014 are as follows:

  1. Fitness: I want this to be my fittest/healthiest year to date! I have a very long history of getting into shape, burnt out on it, and then letting myself “go” again. This is a habit I wish to break this year. For this goal, I plan to consistently try to switch up my fitness routine so that I don’t get tired of what I’m doing and become complacent. I want to educate myself on health and fitness to the point where I’m not stuck in a routine that causes me to do the same thing, day after day. For now, this means finishing Focus T25. After I finish, I need to find a different program that suits my needs and goals. The most important thing is to keep going and make fitness a priority throughout the year. I also need to evaluate my nutrition and find new recipes and foods that are healthy but will keep my taste buds interested. Weekly meal planning will be the key to remaining on track and focused.
  2.  Rock my job: I am still the new kid on the block at my work. I have plenty of marketing experience to be successful at my job. However, I am completely new to the industry that I represent. There is a huge learning curve for me in this position. I have absolutely no background in radio and engineering which makes it difficult to create copy for the marketing materials needed. I always imagined that I could do marketing for any company because my passion for marketing is so strong but it turns out that having a passion for what your marketing definitely makes it easier. Therefore, my goal is to learn as much about the industry as possible to create the best strategies and materials I possibly can. I need to prove myself that I can do this, I can take something that I don’t understand and turn it into good, creative, quality marketing.
  3. Blog: I’m new to this whole blogging regularly thing but it is my goal to create more interesting material for you readers. I would like to create more interactive posts, tutorials for crafts and beauty, and give tips and tricks for health and nutrition. My goal is to try to have enough material to blog 4-5 times a week.
  4. Wedding: Holy moly I’m going to be a WIFE by the end of the year! I couldn’t be more thrilled!!! However, there is a lot that needs to be done before I walk down that aisle. My resolution is to make a plan and take the many steps necessary to make this a relaxing, stress-free, on-budget wedding. I will not become bridezilla, I will soak in every moment, and I will love every moment.
  5. Small Business: This is more of a long-term goal and will continue to be a goal probably the rest of my life but as I mentioned before, the key to success with these larger/more complex goals, it so set milestones along the way. The main thing I want to accomplish in 2014 with this goal is to come up with an idea for my own business and start the planning process towards its creation. If I’m lucky, I’ll have a business plan by the end of the year but we shall see. I want this to be something I have passion for, can commit to, and can see longevity in.

I have many, many other small goals for 2014 but these are the main ones that will follow me throughout the entire year. I must say, I am pumped for what this year will bring me. I have life changes on the horizon and many, many things to be grateful for. Just remember, your life is what you make of it.

What are your goals for 2014 and how do you plan to achieve them? Share with me in the comment section below.

Leave a Reply

